Elected Officials

Elected Officials

Calvert County

Board of County Commissioners

The clerk is Katie Brittain.

Circuit Court for Calvert County

The Circuit Court for Calvert County, located in Prince Frederick, Maryland, is part of the Seventh Judicial Circuit, which also includes Charles, Prince George’s and Saint Mary’s Counties. It is a trial court of general jurisdiction, which handles juvenile and family law matters, as well as all major civil cases and serious criminal matters. The circuit court also has appellate jurisdiction over decisions of the district court and certain administrative agencies. In addition, it has full common law and equity powers and jurisdiction in all civil and criminal cases within the county, and all additional powers and jurisdiction conferred by the Constitution and by law, except where, by law, jurisdiction has been limited or conferred upon by another tribunal.

Calvert County Circuit Court Judges

Appointed by Governor &/or elected by Voters to 15-year terms (3 Judges):
Mark S. ChandleeCounty Administrative Judge & Chief Judge (chosen by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals), 2029
Mark W. CarmeanAssociate Judge, 2035
Andrew S. RappaportAssociate Judge, 2035

Clerk of the Circuit Court

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms:
Kathy P. Smith (D), Clerk, 2026

District Court

Appointed by Governor with Senate consent to 10-year term (2 Judges):
Robyn E. Riddle, Associate Judge, 2026
Michelle R. Saunders, Associate Judge, 2033

Orphan's Court

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms:
Leslie M. Downs (R), Chief Judge, 2026
Theodore Philip LeBlanc (R), Judge, 2026
Thomas M. Pelagatti (D), Judge, 2026

Register of Wills

Elected by Voters to 4-year term:
Margaret H. Phipps (D), Register of Wills, 2026

County Sheriff

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms:
Ricky Cox (R), Sheriff, 2026

Calvert County Treasurer

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms:
Nova Tracy-Soper (R), Treasurer, 2026

Calvert County State's Attorney

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms:
Robert H. Harvey, Jr., (R), 2026

Calvert County Board of Education

Inez Claggett, President, 2024
Antoine S. White, Vice President, 2024
Dawn C. Balinski, Member, 2024
Lisa Grenis, Member, 2026
Jana L. Smith-Post, Member, 2026
Jordan Hayes, Student Member
Dr. Andrae Townsel, Superintendent of Schools 

Calvert County Democratic Central Committee

Elected by Democratic voters to 4-year terms during the Primary election (2022).

Renita Alexander, Vice-Chair
Collin Berglund, Treasurer
Kara Dudley, Member
Lauren Elyard, Secretary
Spike Erickson, Associate Member
Jeanette Flaim, Associate Member
Cameron Gross, Member
Gabe Gough, Member
Garrett Hill, Associate Member
Greg Howard, Member
David M. Salazar, Member
Cristin Orr Shiffer, Member
Cindy Yoe, Chair

Calvert County Republican Central Committee (CCRCC)

Elected by Republican voters to 4-year terms during the Primary election (2022).

In addition, 4 associate members are elected by the CCRCC. 

Lenny Edwards, Assoc. Member
Josh Johnson, Education Committee
Elizabeth (Betsy) King, Secretary
Al Larsen, Assoc. Member
John Paul Lavallee, Assoc. Member
Lisa Lavallee, Outreach Committee Chair
Donna McCory, Assoc. Member
James McQueen, Communications Chair
Chris Palombi, Assoc. Member
"J.P." Sherkus, Vice Chairman
Cal Steuart, Member
Jeremy Todzia, Assoc. Member
Fred Wilson, Assoc. Member
Dale Weems, Chairman
Donna Zupancic, Treasurer


Governor/Lieutenant Governor

Elected by voters to four-year terms, limit of two consecutive terms.

Wes Moore (D) Governor,2026
Aruna Miller (D) Lieutenant Governor, 2026


Elected by voters to a four-year term, no term limit

Brooke E. Lierman (D), 2026

Attorney General

Elected by voters to a four-year term, no term limit

Anthony G. Brown (D), 2026

Maryland General Assembly

State Senate

Elected by voters to a four-year term, no term limit

Sen. Michael A. Jackson (D), District 27, 2026 
Sen. John D. (Jack) Bailey (R), District 29, 2026

State House of Delegates

Elected by voters to a four-year term, no term limit

Del. Mark N. Fisher (R), District 27C, 2026
Jeffrie E. Long, Jr. (D), District 27B, 2026
Todd B. Morgan (R), District 29C, 2026


U.S. President/Vice President

Elected by voters to a four-year term, limit of two consecutive terms

Joseph R. Biden, Jr., (D), President, 2024
Kamala D. Harris, (D), Vice President, 2024

U.S. Senate

Elected by voters to six-year terms, no term limit

Benjamin L. Cardin (D), 2026
Chris Van Hollen (D), 2028

U.S. House of Representatives

Elected by voters to two-year terms, no term limit

Steny Hoyer (D), 2024